Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join Now
Cultural Healing, Restoring Kinship Online Course
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Cultural Healing, Restoring Kinship Online Course

This 2-month online course is facilitated by Kaira Jewel Lingo and Hai An. There are 9 racial affinity sanctuary group meetings and 2 community ceremonies. Each week includes recorded teachings and meditations, assigned chapters from the book, additional resources, and an online discussion.

 Export to Your Calendar 9/13/2020
When: Course beginning on Sunday, September 13, 2020
Where: Online Course
United States
Presenter: Kaira Jewel Lingo and Hai An
Contact: Apply to attend this program - see information below.

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Event Description

VIEW THE FLYER FOR THIS COURSE

Cultural Healing, Restoring Kinship: A Dharma-based Book study of My Grandmother’s Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending our Hearts and Bodies by Resmaa Menakem

September 13 - November 9, 2020

This 2-month online course is facilitated by Kaira Jewel Lingo and Hai An. There are 9 racial affinity sanctuary group meetings and 2 community ceremonies. Each week includes recorded teachings and meditations, assigned chapters from the book, additional resources, and an online discussion.

Dates for this course:

  • October 10th and November 7th (Saturdays) at 8am Pacific/11am Eastern/4pm UK/5pm EU | Community Ceremony for all participants, 90 minutes long, facilitated by Kaira Jewel &
    Hai An.
  • Racial Affinity Group Sanctuary Calls, September 13-November 9 / Racial affinity group calls are 75-minutes long.

For Black-Bodied people, with Kaira Jewel. Sundays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT or

For all Black/Indigenous/People of Color/ all BAME, with Kaira Jewel. Sundays at 8am PT/11am ET/4pm UK/ 5pm EU. If you can’t attend one of these times, we may be able to offer additional times dependent on interest, so please indicate in the application that you’d like to be on the waiting list for additional group times.

For White People, with Hai An. Either Sundays at 7pmET/4pm PT or Mondays at 11am PT/2pm ET/7pm UK/8pm EU, or Mondays at 5pm PT/8pm ET

If you can’t attend any of the times, we may be able to offer additional times dependent on interest, so please indicate in application that you’d like to be on the waiting list for additional group times.

Sliding Scale Cost:

$100 for those on a fixed income - no one will be turned away for lack of funds.
$250 covers the cost of the course
$400 helps others to enroll

We are now accepting applications. Please apply here: https://forms.gle/fNyR1CAJArum8Df6A (Make a note in the application that you are an "AOBTA member" - there is an effort to group AOBTA members together for this course).

Applications will be reviewed on a first come, first serve basis until the sanctuary groups are filled. Please apply early to ensure your spot.

For those who wish to support this work and cannot join the course, we invite you to donate to make scholarships available via PayPal here : DONATE HERE or via Venmo (@Kaira-Lingo) or if sending internationally, via transferwise.com, email info@kairajewel.com for bank info. Please indicate that your donation is for Cultural Healing, Restoring Kinship scholarships.

About the facilitators:

Kaira Jewel Lingo, (she/her), is biracial, of black and white heritage. She began practicing mindfulness in 1997. An ordained nun of 15 years in Thich Nhat Hanh’s Order of Interbeing, she is now based in Colombo, Sri Lanka, leading retreats internationally, offering mindfulness programs for educators and youth in schools, as well as individual spiritual mentoring. She offers BIPOC mindfulness retreats and retreats and workshops on healing racism. She is a recent graduate of the Spirit Rock Teacher Training Program. Visit kairajewel.com to learn more.

Hai An, (they/them, she/her) is identifies as White and is a Bhikshuni, a Buddhist nun, living on the colonized lands of the Attawondron people, called Guelph, Canada. HaiAn received monastic ordination from Thich Nhat Hanh 2012 and trained at Plum Village Monastery in France and Blue Cliff Monastery in New York State, and left the monastery in 2018. They are a member of the ARISE Sangha bringing racial justice to the forefront of the Plum Village community and a member of Dharma Pathways, a collaboration of independent monastics: visit dharmapathways.org to learn more.

AOBTA®
391 Wilmington Pike
Suite #3, Box 260
Glen Mills, PA 19342

  484.841.6023 

office@aobta.org   

 

Copyright AOBTA® | All Rights Reserved | Terms of Use